Day 5

July 27, 2012

Today, other than a whole milk for Big and Little Boy and a banana, was Starbucks free. It was not sugary coffee drink free though.

There was a playdate today at a fro-yo shop that is currently featuring frozen coffee chillers for $1 for a limited time. Well, when I heard about the offer, I looked up the shop and took a look at their ingredients online. The GOOD thing- no weird stuff in them. It has a fro-yo base with coffee and actual sugar. the BAD thing- still at least TWICE the daily recommended amount of sugar.

To be honest, I didn’t really enjoy it that much. Even though the ingredients appear to be pretty natural (to my knowledge, which isn’t saying much given that I’ve been drinking a drink with carcinogens unknowingly for the past three years), it tasted a little…fake? Maybe it’s because fro yo always tastes like a bit of an imposter. Or MAYBE my taste buds are actually changing? It actually tasted a little bit too sweet to me.

MORE importantly, I enjoyed the company and just had a nice time enjoying the treat with others.

It seems so odd though, that I much prefer the taste of Starbucks, which is much worse when it comes to dangerous ingredients. Why is that? And why is the FDA approving all this stuff when there is pretty good evidence that many of these ingredients are so dangerous? Why would ingredients be legal to use when they have to be labeled as a carcinogens in at least one state? I don’t get it!

Tomorrow, back to my own concoction. Much less sugar and even cheaper than $1!

Leave a Reply

