Day 12-15

August 6, 2012

Wow! Halfway through the month, and thus far I’ve survived my Starbucks hiatus! I DID have a bit of a cheat day today. I had a Burger King Frap. It was a small, but still, contained caramel color, most likely, and hfcs. It didn’t taste as good as I thought it would, which is good news I think! It tasted VERY sweet. I can honestly say I like the ones I make without SO much sugar better! But, once in awhile folks, the dishes just get a little overwhelming, and I break down wanting that sugar/caffeine rush. I’ve started to feel ok about a little extra sugar once in awhile since I’ve been trying to make sure I’m not snacking on sugary stuff all day. And I wish I could find a commercial frap without all the chemicals, but that is proving to be impossible 😦 If only whole foods had a coffee bar :P!

A triumph this weekend in that I made Little Boy’s first birthday cupcake and it was really good! It came from a recipe book I got at the library featuring recipes using whole foods for babies. I tried making a healthy cake for Big Boy’s birthday, and it just didn’t turn out that great (it is the first cake I had ever made from scratch). This was a carrot cake using only 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and it turned out really yummy! I made the frosting by straining some organic whole milk vanilla yogurt, which was different, but good. The rest of the ingredients were not organic, but there weren’t any ingredients that I couldn’t pronounce. I felt really proud, since it’s the first cake I made from scratch that turned out right! Little Boy ate it up with BIG smiles!

The first thing I need to do to avoid an emergency Starbucks run is make a plan! I think the boys and I will try to go to a park in the morning if it is nice and then run to the store to pick up some RXs.

Leave a Reply

